Flip System Review

Here is my flip system review based on 3 years of experience.flip-diagram

Reasons I Love Flips

  • Cost. You can buy a flip daypack (2 covers + 6 inserts) for $55 or cheaper at many online retailers. If I wanted to, I could CD full-time with 4 day packs + 4 extra covers (covers alone cost $10-$14 each). That’s only a $275 investment.
  • Versatility. Like any one-sized diaper cover, I can use any brand of insert or pre-folds with them. They have been great for night-time, too, as long as I double up the inserts or use a hemp trifold undflip insert features.jpgerneath the Stay-Dry.
  • Stay-Dry inserts. The flip Stay-Dry inserts are convenient and hold a lot of liquid, and are made with built-in liners on the side touching baby’s bum. They fit in bumGenius pocket diapers. Flip makes newborn Stay-Dry inserts (6 pack for around $12) that make awesome doublers or can be used as liners on top of pre-folds for night time.
  • Few leaking issues. When put on correctly, this diaper cover has never given me leaking issues. I have better luck w/ these than any of my pocket diapers at night.
  • Sizing. Though bulky on newborns/small babies, these covers still fit my daughter now at 32 lbs and 3 yrs old.
  • PUL quality. I really like the “soft” feeling of the PUL used to make flip covers. The elastic casing isn’t too rigid, so doesn’t cause angry red marks on my babies. Even though the elastic has stretched over the past 3 years, the integrity of the PUL material itself has held up and does not leak. I’ve not tried replacing elastic yet, but according to what I’ve read it’s pretty simple to accomplish (even for a sewing novice).
  • Covers can be reused without washing as long as they aren’t soiled by poo. This means less laundry.
  • Take up less space in the diaper bag.
  • Th Stay-Dry inserts take a while to dry in the dryer. I prefer to line dry them whenever possible or use drying racks indoors.

Cons about the flip

  • If you’re looking for fast and efficient changing routines, it takes practice to become a pro with any diaper cover with insert/pre-fold system. The flip system is no exception.
  • Since the insert is “loose” in the cover before snapping it on, they can be difficult to put on when baby is squirmy or trying to roll over. (However, I made a parenting mistake and didn’t bother to teach my daughter what “be still” means until AFTER she started rolling over. Start saying “be still” at changing time early!)
  • Like any cover/pre-fold or insert system, flips are not very day-care, church nursery, or babysitter friendly (and in my case husband-friendly). For this reason, I use them only when I’m around to change diapers.
  • Bulky on newborns and small babies.

My Flip Changing Routine

  1. I always have the clean cover & insert ready to go BEFORE unsnapping the soiled diaper.
  2. Is there poo? Find out before doing anything else! I learned quickly there’s nothing worse than unsnapping a poopy diaper and not beinelsie_bottom_flipg prepared!
  3. I remove the wet or slightly soiled diaper and shake the insert out into my diaper pail (which I keep beside the changing table). I set aside the cover to reuse (later I’ll wipe it out w/ a wet cloth or wipe). If there’s mega poo that’s soiled the cover, I set the whole thing aside to spray out after changing.
  4. Put the flip on the baby! It’s crucial to make sure the insert isn’t sticking out in the back (this is true for any CD). It must be tucked under the “stopper” flap.

Leave a comment